Schedule & Content

Update 3/1/2021

  • ENVS 100.1: Introduction to Environment & Sustainability meets MWF
    • Section 1: 9:30 AM – 10:20 AM EST  in 207 SCSC or outside (Selby Tent) or Zoom.
    • Section 2: 11:50 AM – 12:40 PM EST  in 207 SCSC or outside (Selby Tent) or Zoom.
      • for now, we will utilize the same schedule for both class sections
  • ENVS 100.2/400.1: Conversations Toward a Sustainable Future meets Tuesday at 6:30-7:30 pm via Zoom.
  • ENVS 100.1 Readings: RHM = Paul Robbins, John Hintz, and Sarah A. Moore, Environment & Society: A Critical Introduction (2nd edition)

Resources for course and project:

Additional Resources:


Subscribe to ENVS 100.1 Calendar: see Syllabus or Project Page


Keywords: So you don’t blamp out on all the fun concepts I talk about, I’m asking that you submit (via Google Forms) one keyword (your choice) and its definition from each class lecture (not including meetings about the course project, or student presentations, etc.)

The submission form and explanation is here.

I’ve indicated on the schedule below (and on the ENVS 100.1 Calendar: see Syllabus) when keywords are due.


Week 1: Environment & Sustainability & Your Backyard (Delaware, OH, for now)

Monday, Feb.. 1: No class meeting

Tuesday, Feb. 2: ENVS 100.2/400.1: No class meeting

Wednesday, Feb. 3: Delaware Run (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)
Friday, Feb. 5: What is this Class? (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: Subscribe to ENVS 100.1 Calendar: see Syllabus or Project Page

Week 2: Some Background
Read: RHM Ch. 1 Introduction
Read: Your assigned RHM chapter (on Projects page)
Glance@: Assessing Your Environmental Values

Monday, Feb. 8: Who is in this Class? (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Assign: RHM chapter (9-17) to each student (see Project Page) & read for Monday, Feb. 15 meeting. Check presentation date on this schedule.

Tuesday, Feb. 9: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Introduction: Overview of course; introductions; introduction to Project Drawdown by Dr. Laurie Anderson (recording)

 Wednesday, Feb. 10: Humans, Environments, and the Anthropocene I (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: One keyword from Feb. 10 lecture by Feb 12 (form here)

Friday, Feb. 12: Humans, Environments, and the Anthropocene II (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: One keyword from Feb. 12 lecture by Feb. 15 (form here)

Week 3: Catastrophe and Triumph & Approaches (still Zoom!)
Read: Your assigned RHM chapter (on Projects page)
Read: RHM Ch. 2 Population & Scarcity
Read Howald & Krygier “Scrappy Sustainability”

Monday, Feb. 15: Catastrophe and Triumph: Scrappy Sustainability (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: One keyword from Feb. 15 lecture by Feb. 17 (form here)

Tuesday, Feb. 16: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Networking w/OWU Citizens’ Climate Lobby, Outdoor Ministry Team, Tree House. (recording)

ENVS 100.2: Brief notes on session, two questions, ask one during meeting
ENVS 400.1: Senior perspectives on living on campus and clubs: at least one comment during meeting.

Wednesday, Feb. 17: Discussion of Chapter Review, Values, Ideas for Specific Project Proposal (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Present: ideas for specific project to class; email to instructor by 4 pm
Assign:
Chapter Review

Friday, Feb. 19: Approach: Population & Scarcity I (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Week 4: Approaches & Things
Read: Assessing Your Environmental Values,  Transferable Skills
Read: RHM Ch. 3 Markets & Commodities, 9 Carbon Dioxide, 10 Trees

Monday, Feb. 22: Approach: Population & Scarcity II (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: One keyword from Feb. 19 and one keyword from Feb. 22 lecture by Feb. 23 (form here)

Tuesday, Feb. 23: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Sustainability Task Force Meeting (STF) (recording)

Wednesdaty, Feb. 24: Things: students present & discuss: Carbon Dioxide, Trees (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: Chapter review shared by 9 am

Friday, Feb. 26:  Approach: Markets & Commodities I (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Week 5: Approaches
Read RHM Ch. 11 Wolves, 12 Uranium

Monday, March 1: OWU Writing Center & Sagan ARCApproach: Markets & Commodities II (recording of Section 1 | Section 2)

Due: One keyword from Feb. 26 and one keyword from March 1 lecture by March 2 (form here)

Tuesday, March 2: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Assign Course Reflection Project, Discussion:

• “How John Muir’s Brand of Conservation Led to the Decline of Yosemite”
• “Cornered by Protected Areas”
• “Dibaginjigaadeg Anishinaabe Ezhitwaad, a Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu” (video)

Wedbesday, March 3:  Caughtup! No Class Meeting!

Friday, March 5: Things: students present & discuss: Wolves, Uranium 

Week 6: Approaches & Things

Read RHM Ch. 4 Institutions & The Commons

Monday, March 8: Approach: Institutions & the Commons I

Tuesday, March 9: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion:

“Speaking of Nature”
“How to Raise an Environmentalist”

Wedsneday, March 10: Bishop Break: No Class Meeting

Friday, March 12: Approach: Institutions & the Commons II

Due: One keyword from March 8 and one keyword from March 12 lecture by March 15 (form here)

Week 7: Project & Things
Read RHM Ch. 13 Tuna, 14 Lawns, 15 Bottled Water, 16 French Fries

Monday, March 15: Brief Presentation of Course Project Focus Topics

Tuesday, March 16: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion:

Apocalyptic fires are ravaging the world’s largest tropical wetland
• Fires Char the Pantanal
• Fires continue to ravage Brazil’s Amazon rainforest, Pantanal wetlands
• The Art of Fire: Reviving the Indigenous Craft of Cultural Burning

ENVS 1oo.2: due: draft of Freshman/Sophomore E&S Plans for the Future Document
ENVS 400.1: due: draft of Senior E&S Achievement & Assessment Document

ENVS 100.2/400.1: Share & Comment on Documents

Wednesday, March 17: Things: students present & discuss: Tuna & Lawns

       Due: Focus topic shared by 4 pm

Friday, March 19: Things: students present & discuss: Bottled Water & French Fries

Week 8: Things
Read RHM Ch. 17 E-Waste

Monday, March 22: Things: students present & discuss: E-Waste

Tuesday, March 23: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion:

• “The Word-Hoard: Robert Macfarlane on Rewilding our Language of Landscape
• Robin Wall Kimmerer – “Speaking of Nature

Wednesday, March 24: Finding Focus Topic Sources
Friday, March 26: Finding Focus Topic Sources

Week 9: Course Project: Focus Topic Sources
Read RHM Ch. 5 Environmental Ethics

Monday, March 29: Approach: Environmental Ethics I

Tuesday, March 30: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Sustainability Task Force Meeting (STF): Jim Pearce, AVI & TBA

Wednesday, March 31: Approach: Environmental Ethics II

Due: One keyword from March 29 and one keyword from March 31 lecture by April 2 (form here)

Friday, April 2: TBA

Week 10: Approaches & Project
Read RHM Ch. 6 Risks & Hazards

Monday, April 5: Approach: Risks & Hazards I

Tuesday, April 6: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion:

• 9 Rules for the Black Birdwatcher (Orion)
• How Am I Going to Be Perceived as a Black Man With Binoculars? (Vanity Fair) (also, PDF)
• I’m a black climate expert. Racism derails our efforts to save the planet (Washington Post)
• On the Stubborn Whiteness of Environmentalism (Inside Higher Ed)

Wednesday, April 7: Approach: Risks & Hazards II

Due: One keyword from April 5 and one keyword from April 7 lecture by April 9 (form here)

Friday, April 9: Questions session: Finding Sources: six sources due Friday, April 16

Due: Revisions of RHM Chapter Review (if needed)

Week 11: Approaches
Read: RHM Ch. 7 Political Economy

Monday, April 12: Annotated Bibliography & Specific Project Proposal & Final Presentation Workshop

Tuesday, April 13: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion: TBA

ENVS 100.2: Due: Read and commented on drafts of 400.1 documents
ENVS 400.1: Due: Read and commented on drafts of  100.2 documents

Wednesday, April 14: Approach: Political Economy I 
Friday, April 16:  Approach: Political Economy II

Due: Focus topic sources (2 books, 2 articles, 2 WWW sites, proper citation style) share by 4 pm.

Week 12: Approaches
Read RHM Ch. 8 Social Construction of Nature

Monday, April 19: Political Economy III

Due: One keyword from April 14, one keyword from April 16, and one keyword from April 19 lecture by April 21 (form here)

Tuesday, April 20: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Discussion

• Watch Talking Climate (YouTube) [1.5 hours, so pace yourself]

Wednesday, April 21: Approach: Social Construction of Nature I
Friday, April 23: Approach: Social Construction of Nature II

Due: Annotated Bibliography (250-300 words per source) share by 4 pm.
Due: One keyword from April 21 and one keyword from April 23 lecture by April 26 (form here)

Week 13: Approaches & Projects

Monday, April 26: TBA

Tuesday, April 27: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Sustainability Task Force Meeting (STF)

Wednesday, April 28: TBA

Friday, April 30: TBA

Due: Draft of specific project Grant proposal (2-3 pages) share by 4 pm.

Week 14: Presentations

Monday, May 3: Presentations of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Tuesday, May 4: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Presentations

ENVS 400.1: Seniors present 5-minute reflection on time at OWU on Zoom
ENVS 100.2: Freshmen/sophomores present 5-minute preliminary plan for future at OWU on Zoom

Wednesday, May 5: Presentations of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Friday, May 7: Presentations of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Week 15: Presentations

Monday, May 10: Presentations of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Tuesday, May 11: ENVS 100.2/400.1: Bishop Break: No Class Meeting

Wednesday, May 12: Bishop Break: No Class Meeting
Friday, May 14: Presentation of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Week 16: Presentations & Finish

Monday, May 17: Presentations of Student Projects

Section 2: TBA (4)
Section 1: TBA (4)

Due: Revisions to Annotated Bibliography and Proposal (if you choose)

Tuesday, May 18: Last Meeting

ENVS 100.2: Freshmen/sophomores present 5-minute preliminary plan for future at OWU on Zoom + Discussion of More Conversations 
ENVS 1oo.2: due: revised, final Freshman/Sophomore E&S Plans for the Future Document

ENVS 400.1: due: revised, final Senior E&S Achievement & Assessment Document

Wednesday, May 19: Course Conclusions

Friday, May 21: No Class Meeting     

DUE: Course Project Summary & Synthesis (See Project page for details) due by the end of the scheduled remote final period.