Schedule & Content

Update 4/19/2023

  • ENVS 110: Introduction to Environment & Sustainability
    • Section 1 MWF @ 1:10 PM ‚Äď 2 PM in 207 SCSC
  • ENVS 198/498: Conversations Toward a Sustainable Future (W @ noon)
  • Readings: RHM =¬†Paul Robbins, John Hintz, and Sarah A. Moore, Environment & Society: A Critical Introduction (3rd edition)

Library Resources

Additional Resources

Keywords

Instead of tests or exams in class, I’m asking that you submit (via Google Forms) two keywords (of your choice) and their definition from each of the RHM textbook chapters that focus on major approaches to understanding relations between humans and the environment:

Ch. 2 Population & Scarcity
Ch. 3 Markets & Commodities
Ch. 4 Institutions & The Commons
Ch. 5 Environmental Ethics
Ch. 6 Risks & Technology
Ch. 7 Political Economy
Ch. 8 Social Construction of Nature
Ch. 9: Feminism & the Environment
Ch. 10: Racialized Environments

The submission form and explanation are here.

I’ve indicated when keywords are due on the schedule below (and on the ENVS 110 Calendar: see Syllabus). They are part of your grade.

Week 1

Monday, Jan. 16: No class meeting

Wednesday, Jan. 18: Introduction to Course

Friday, Jan. 20: No class meeting (instructor on secret expedition)

Week 2

Read: RHM Ch. 1 Introduction

Monday, Jan. 23: What is this Class?

Due: Subscribe to ENVS 110 Calendar: see Syllabus or Project Page

Wednesday, Jan. 25: Humans, Environments, and the Anthropocene

Friday, Jan. 27: Delaware Run +Your RHM chapter + (maybe) Preliminary project ideas

Assign: Your RHM chapter (9-17) (on Projects page): review ch. by Wed., Feb. 1. & check presentation date on schedule.
Contact: Your chapter co-presenter(s)

Week 3

Read: RHM Ch. 2 Population & Scarcity

Monday, Jan. 30: Catastrophe and Triumph: Scrappy Sustainability

Wednesday, Feb. 1: Chapter Review & Ideas for Course Project 

Present: Present ideas for specific course project to class; email 3 ideas to instructor by 4:01 pm
Due:
Read personal RHM Chapter
Attend: STF Meeting (Merrick 301)

Friday, Feb. 3: Approach: Population & Scarcity: Concepts, thoughts, discussion

Due: Two keywords from Population & Scarcity (form here)

Week 4

Read: Assessing Your Environmental Values, Transferable Skills
Read: RHM Ch. 3 Markets & Commodities

Monday, Feb. 6: Brief Presentation of Course Project Topic Ideas

Wednesdaty, Feb. 8: Approach: Markets & Commodities

Due: Two keywords from Markets & Commodities (form here)

Friday, Feb. 10: Approach: Institutions & the Commons  (Moved to March 31)

Due: Two keywords from Institution & the Commons (form here) (Moved to March 31)
Due: 
Finalized focus topic emailed to Instructor and Holly Birk by 4:08 pm
Due: Chapter review shared by 11:52 pm

Week 5

Monday, Feb. 13: Finding Focus Topic Sources I

Wedbesday, Feb. 15: Finding Focus Topic Sources II

Friday, Feb. 17: Student Appointments with Holly Birk (vist Holly for appointment)

Week 6

Read RHM Ch. 11 Carbon Dioxide, Ch. 12 Trees,  Ch. 13 Wolves, Ch. 14 Uranium

Monday, Feb. 20: Things: students present & discuss: Carbon Dioxide & Trees

Individual Meetings w/Holly Begin

Wedsneday, Feb. 22: Things: students present & discuss: Wolves & Uranium

Friday, Feb. 24: OWU Writing Center & OWU Career Connection

Week 7

Read RHM Ch. 5 Environmental Ethics, Ch. 15 Tuna, Ch. 16 Lawns, Ch. 17 Bottled Water, Ch. 18 French Fries, Ch. 19 E-Waste

Monday, Feb. 27: Things: students present & discuss: Tuna & Lawns

Wednesday, March 1: Things: students present & discuss: Bottled Water & French Fries

Attend: STF Meeting (Merrick 301)

Friday, March 3: Things: students present & discuss & E-Waste & Approach: Environmental Ethics (in SCSC 211)

Due: Two keywords from Environmental Ethics (form here)

Week 8:

Monday, March. 6: Approach: Environmental Ethics & Annotated Bibliography & Draft TPG Proposal Workshop (in SCSC 211)

Assign: Annotated Bibliography & Draft TPG

*Wednesday, March 8: Approach: Risks & Technology (in SCSC 211)

Due: Two keywords from Risks & Technology (form here)

Friday, March 10: No class meeting (but stuff still due)

Individual Meetings w/Holly End
Due: Final Project Sources
(cited correctly) sent to Holly and Instructor by 4:61pm
Due: Revisions to Chapter Review (if requested)

Week 9: Spring Break

Monday, March 13:  No Class Meeting

Wednesday, March 15: No Class Meeting

Friday, March 17: No Class Meeting

Week 10

Read RHM  Ch. 4 Institutions & The Commons, Ch. 6 Risks & Technology

*Monday, March 20: Approach: Institutions & the Commons

Due: Two keywords from Institution & the Commons (form here)

*Wednesday, March 22: Approach: Risks & Technology

Due: Two keywords from Risks & Technology (form here)
Due: Sign up for 10-minute meeting by 4:51 pm (see calendar or email for link)

Friday, March 24: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

Week 11

Read RHM Ch. 8 Social Construction of Nature

Monday, March 27: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

Due: Annotated Bibliography (250-300 words per source) share by 4:19 pm.

Wednesday, March 29: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

*Friday, March 31: Approach: Social Construction of Nature

Due: Two keywords from Social Construction of Nature (form here)

Week 12

Read RHM Ch. 9 Feminism & the Environment, Ch. 10 Racialized Environments

*Monday, April 3: The OWU Connection

*Wednesday, April 5: Approach: Feminism & the Environment

Due: Two keywords from Feminism & the Environment (form here)
Attend: STF Meeting (Merrick TBA)

Friday, April 7: Approach: Racialized Environments

Due: Two keywords from Racialized Environments (form here)

Week 13

Read RHM Ch. 7 Political Economy

*Monday, April 10: Final Presentation & Project Synthesis + Approach: Risks & Technology (catchup)

Due: Draft TPG Proposal (2-3 pages) share by 4:44 pm.

*Wednesday, April 12: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Norman, Silet, Perkins
Due: Two keywords from Political Economy (form here)

Friday, April 14: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Brown, Ellis, Hagans

Week 14

*Monday, April 17: Now we’re meeting! Sorry!

Section 1: Perkins, Shoup
Due:
revisions to Annotated Bibliography (share by 10 pm)

Wednesday, April 19: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Good, Mankowski, Hernandez

Friday, April 21: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Silah, Villanueva-Henkle, Van Zijl

Week 15

Monday, April 24: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Scull, Pieterse

Wednesday, April 26: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: O’Malley, McMichael-Liston, Lestrange

Friday, April 28: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: Lale, Howard, Johnson

Week 16

Monday, May 1: Presentations & Evaluations & Conclusions

Section 1: Burgeson, Wolfingbarger

DUE: Course Project Summary & Synthesis (See Project page for details) due Friday, May 5 (in Shared Drive: email me)