Schedule & Content

Update 9/26/2022

  • ENVS 110: Introduction to Environment & Sustainability meets MWF
    • Section 1 @ 10:00 AM ‚Äď 10:50 AM in 207 SCSC
    • Section 2 @ 1:10 PM ‚Äď 2 PM in 207 SCSC
      • We will utilize the same schedule for both class sections
  • ENVS 198/498: Conversations Toward a Sustainable Future (W @ noon)
  • Readings: RHM =¬†Paul Robbins, John Hintz, and Sarah A. Moore, Environment & Society: A Critical Introduction (3rd edition)

Library Resources

Additional Resources

Keywords

Instead of tests or exams in class, I’m asking that you submit (via Google Forms) two keywords (of your choice) and their definition from each of the RHM textbook chapters that focus on major approaches to understanding relations between humans and the environment:

Ch. 2 Population & Scarcity
Ch. 3 Markets & Commodities
Ch. 4 Institutions & The Commons
Ch. 5 Environmental Ethics
Ch. 6 Risks & Technology
Ch. 7 Political Economy
Ch. 8 Social Construction of Nature
Ch. 9: Feminism & the Environment
Ch. 10: Racialized Environments

The submission form and explanation are here.

I’ve indicated on the schedule below (and on the¬†ENVS 110 Calendar: see Syllabus) when keywords are due. If you miss a due date, don’t panic; just get the keywords in the form. They are part of your grade.

Week 1

Monday, Aug. 22: No class meeting

Wednesday, Aug. 24: Introduction to Course

Friday, Aug. 26: Delaware Run

Week 2

Read: RHM Ch. 1 Introduction
Read: Your assigned RHM chapter (on Projects page)
Read: Howald & Krygier¬†“Scrappy Sustainability”

Monday, Aug. 29: What is this Class?

Due: Subscribe to ENVS 110 Calendar: see Syllabus or Project Page

Wednesday, Aug. 31: Humans, Environments, and the Anthropocene +Your RHM chapter + (maybe) Preliminary project ideas

Assign: Your RHM chapter (9-17) (on Projects page): review by Wed., Jan. 26. & check presentation date on schedule.
Contact: Your chapter co-presenter

Friday, Sept. 2: Catastrophe and Triumph: Scrappy Sustainability

Week 3

Read: RHM Ch. 2 Population & Scarcity

Monday, Sept. 5: No class meeting: Labah Day

Wednesday, Sept. 7: Chapter Review: Ideas for Course Project 

Present: Present ideas for specific course project to class; email 3 ideas to instructor by 4 pm
Due:
Read personal RHM Chapter
Due: Read RHM ch. 2 on Population & Scarcity for Discussion next meeting

Friday, Sept. 9: Approach: Population & Scarcity: Concepts, thoughts, discussion

Due: Two keywords from Population & Scarcity (form here)

Week 4

Read: Assessing Your Environmental Values, Transferable Skills
Read: RHM Ch. 3 Markets & Commodities

Monday, Sept. 12: Brief Presentation of Course Project Focus Topic Ideas

Wednesdaty, Sept. 14: Approach: Markets & Commodities

Due: Two keywords from Markets & Commodities (form here)

Friday, Sept. 16: Krygier available for project discussions, Group presentation meetings, No required attendance

Due: Chapter review shared by 11:52 pm

Week 5

Read RHM Ch. 11 Carbon Dioxide, Ch. 12 Trees,  Ch. 13 Wolves, Ch. 14 Uranium

Monday, Sept. 19: Things: students present & discuss: Carbon Dioxide & Trees

Due: Finalized focus topic emailed to Instructor and Holly Birk by 4 pm

Wedbesday, Sept. 21: Things: students present & discuss: Wolves & Uranium

Friday, Sept. 23: OWU Writing Center & OWU Career Connection

Week 6

Monday, Sept. 26: Finding Focus Topic Sources I

Wedsneday, Sept. 28: Finding Focus Topic Sources II

Friday, Sept. 30: Student Appointments with Holly Birk (contact Holly)

Week 7

Read RHM Ch. 4 Institutions & The Commons, Ch. 15 Tuna, Ch. 16 Lawns, Ch. 17 Bottled Water, Ch. 18 French Fries, Ch. 19 E-Waste

Monday, Oct. 3: Things: students present & discuss: Tuna & Lawns

Wednesday, Oct. 5: Things: students present & discuss: Bottled Water & French Fries & E-Waste

Friday, Oct. 7: Approach: Institutions & the Commons

Due: Two keywords from Institution & the Commons (form here)

Week 8: Fall Break

Monday, Oct. 10: TBA

Wednesday, Oct 12: No class meeting (Fall break)

Friday, Oct 14: No class meeting (Fall break)

Week 9:

Read RHM Ch. 5 Environmental Ethics, Ch. 6 Risks & Technology, Ch. 7 Political Economy

Monday, Oct. 17: Approach: Environmental Ethics

Due: Two keywords from Environmental Ethics (form here)

Wednesday, Oct. 19: Approach: Risks & Technology

Due: Two keywords from Risks & Technology (form here)

Friday, Oct. 21: Approach: Political Economy

Due: Two keywords from Political Economy (form here)

Week 10

Read RHM Ch. 8 Social Construction of Nature,  Ch. 9 Feminism & the Environment, Ch. 10 Racialized Environments

Monday, Oct. 24: Approach: Social Construction of Nature

Due: Two keywords from Social Construction of Nature (form here)

Wednesday, Oct. 26: Approach: Feminism & the Environment

Due: Two keywords from Feminism & the Environment (form here)

Friday, Oct. 28: Approach: Racialized Environments

Due: Two keywords from Racialized Environments (form here)
Due: Email 6 sources to instructor and Holly Birk by noon

Week 11

Monday, Oct. 31: Annotated Bibliography & Draft TPG Proposal & Final Presentation Workshop

Due: Revisions of RHM Chapter Review (if needed)
Assign
: Annotated Bibliography & Draft TPG

Wednesday, Nov. 2: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

Friday, Nov. 4: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

Week 12

Monday, Nov. 7: 10-minute meetings with Krygier – TPG Ideas (see email for signup link)

Wednesday, Nov. 9:  The OWU Connection

Friday, Nov. 11: Catch-up

Week 13

Monday, Nov. 14: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Wednesday, Nov. 16: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Due: Annotated Bibliography (250-300 words per source) share by 4 pm.

Friday, Nov. 18: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Week 14: Thanksgiving

Monday, Nov. 21: No class meeting

Wednesday, Nov. 23: No class meeting

Friday, Nov. 25: No class meeting

Week 15

Monday, Nov. 28: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Due: Draft TPG Proposal (2-3 pages) share by 4 pm.

Wednesday, Nov. 30: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Friday, Dec. 2: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Week 16

Monday, Dec. 5: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Wednesday, Dec. 7: Presentation of Student Projects (about 15 minutes each)

Section 1: TBA, TBA, TBA
Section 2: TBA, TBA, TBA

Friday, Dec. 9: Evaluations & Conclusions

DUE: Course Project Summary & Synthesis (See Project page for details) due Tuesday, December 13 @ Noon (in Shared Drive: email me)