Library Lovers: Ruth Davies

As you walk through various buildings on campus, have you noticed all the different portraits gazing down on you? Or that the stained glass windows in Slocum depict male historical figures? But who are they, and why are they important? I’d like to bring your attention to one memorable faculty member and Beeghly library patron who has significantly impacted Ohio Wesleyan’s community.

Book Worms: Andy Barlett, Delaware Public Library

The children’s departments at public libraries are essential to our communities. They provide a space for learning, exploring, and refuge from the everyday hustle and bustle of daily routines. Visiting the library can become an exciting routine for children of all ages. 

The Children’s Department at the Delaware Public Library has much to offer, from teen programs like Book Clubs, Paws for Reading, and even Lego Club to the perennially popular story time four times a week.

A Reading from Anni Liu

This last Tuesday, Ohio Wesleyan was so excited to welcome home Anni Liu ‘13 for a reading from her poetry collection Boarder Vista. Liu joined us in the Benes Room for an engaging reading and discussion about her work, as well as an open time for questions. Liu was introduced by Ronan Thompson who gave an introduction to her professional career and the themes her work covers. 

A Visit From Tommy Orange

This past weekend, Delaware, Ohio was thrilled to have award-winning author Tommy Orange visit the Delaware County District Library for a reading and conversation about his book, There There. The conversation was moderated by OWU Associate English Professor Amy Butcher and recently retired OWU Associate English Professor Karen Poremski. 

Tommy Orange is the author of the New York Times best-selling novel There There.

David Eye’s Reading at OWU

This past Wednesday, Ohio Wesleyan students, faculty, and guests joined visiting assistant professor, David Eye, for a reading from his book, Seed. The reading took place in the Bayley Room of Beeghly Library. The event commenced with Professor Amy Butcher’s introduction of Eye and his previous works. 

David Eye is an award-winning poet, former actor, and professor.

Literary Awards Winners & Honor Society Inductees

The Department of English is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019-2020 literary awards:

  • The Laureate Award for Expository Writing – Navami Panduranga Shenoy
  • The Libuse Reed Award – Emma Rose Neeper
  • The Ernest F. Amy Award – Emma Rose Neeper
  • Robert Flanagan Prize – Meghan Edwards
  • Class of 1870 Memorial Prize for Fiction Writing – Alexander Emerson
  • Class of 1870 Memorial Prize for Academic/Scholarly Writing – Capri Pappas
  • Class of 1870 Memorial Prize for Poetry Writing – Charlotte Gross
  • Class of 1870 Memorial Prize for Creative Non-Fiction Writing – Caroline Williams
  • Class of 1870 Memorial Prize for Screenwriting/Playwriting – Jack Dugan
  • Wheeler Poetry Prize – Giulianna Meltzer
  • The Emma Sparks Memorial Prize – Hannah Bush
  • Frederick L.